fxl.blog() - Incompetent email administrators
A bunch of bytes about nothing
fxl
[info]fxl
Add to Memories
Tell a Friend
Incompetent email administrators
What is the deal with companies hiring incompetent mail administrators these days?

On August 28th, 2007, I posted about how ServePath sent me a very important account notification, but that it was marked as SPAM. The reason it had been marked as spam was that somebody at ServePath decided to send the email from SalesForce.com but failed to update their SPF record before doing so. As such, my mail system flagged the email as SPAM, since according to ServePath's own SPF record, mail from gw2-sjl.salesforce.com (204.14.234.14) was not legitimate email. It appears that ServePath has since updated their SPF record to include servers owned by SalesForce.com, but unfortunately, they are still having a few issues with it.

Last month, while reviewing my email server configuration, I noticed that I was rejecting email from oaklandlibrary.org. I asked Christine if she was expecting email from them, and she said that she was, so I looked into the issue further. The problem was that the server was identifying itself as millennium.oaklandlibrary.org, but there there was no DNS entry for that host name. Since I live in Oakland, and my wife uses the services of this library, I thought it was a good idea to let them know about this issue. It should come as no surprise that my email to postmaster@oaklandlibrary.org bounced, as did my later email to abuse@oaklandlibrary.org. I finally located an address that did not bounce, oplweb@oaklandlibrary.org, but there has been no response.

Just a few days later I noticed that I was rejecting email from Twitter.com. The reason this time was that the Twitter mail server that was connecting to mine had an IP address (128.121.145.168) that resolved to mail.twitter.com. Unfortunately, mail.twitter.com does not resolve to 128.121.145.168) but instead resolves to 207.7.108.85. Anyone can set up an IP address so that it resolves to any domain they want, but in order to be legitimate, it needs to resolve in both directions. 128.121.145.168 fails that test, and as such my mail server rejects, as it should, all notifications from Twitter. Just like with the Oakland Library, I tried to let them know, but email to postmaster@twitter.com, and abuse@twitter.com bounced with messages such as: "<postmaster@twttr.com> (expanded from <postmaster@twitter.com>): User unknown in virtual alias table".

A few weeks ago I tried to sign up for an account at DoubleTwist, but again due to their DNS issues, my mail server is rejecting their email. They are sending mail from 74.86.83.218, which resolves to doubletwist.com, but doubletwist.com resolves to 67.228.121.123 not 67.228.121.123. At least mail to their postmaster address has not bounced, it has simply been ignored.

I could go on and on about companies that are experiencing DNS issues. And no, I will not modify my mail server settings so that I can accept email from mis-configured mail servers. I will not open the door to all that SPAM. Why should I accept email from people who have already demonstrated their incompetence?

I suspect that part of the problem is that there is no such position as "Mail Administrator" at most startups. Email is just an afterthought lumped in with other IT duties which are also an after thought. Even though email can be critical to the success of a new company, it is never given the attention nor respect that it rightfully deserves.

Who is running your email server, and how do you know it is configured correctly?

Edit (2008-04-04): Twitter has since fixed their DNS. It appears that the issue with Twitter was related to their move away from Joyent. Someone just forgot to update their DNS in the process.

Edit (2008-04-06): DoubleTwist has since fixed their DNS.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,
Current Location: Oakland, CA
Listening to: Cali Lewis - GBTV #0333

Comments
nattotastic From: [info]nattotastic Date: April 3rd, 2008 02:04 pm (UTC) (Link)
The company I'm working for now, about 5-6 years ago had a similar issue. I was wrapping stuff up at work and had sent a friend a mail and then followed up about an hour later with a phone call as I just about to head out the door. My friend said he'd never received the mail. He looked at his mail logs and saw that my mail had been RBL'd. I looked up our domain on the RBL and sure enough, there we were. Worse, the reason we were on the list was because we'd been found to be an open relay. D'oh!

The "IT Guy" (he did desktop support, server admin, mail admin, etc.) was still at work playing Halflife so I grabbed him and showed him what was going on. He freaked out, shut down the mail server for about 30 minutes until he could fix the configuration, and at the same time, I sent a petition to remove our domain from the RBL.

Next day our sales division complained pretty non-stop about clients not receiving mails. I don't know if the IT guy ever came clean about what happened. I told my boss what happened but I don't really know about the mysterious going-ons outside of the room where they put all of us developers.

I do know that we have a full-time mail administrator now though.
fxl From: [info]fxl Date: April 6th, 2008 08:44 pm (UTC) (Link)
Sadly, it is often only after a disaster that IT gets the resources it needs.

And, honestly, it is often not incompetence, but lack of hours in the day that leads to these issues. Sure a single person can be desktop support, server admin, mail admin, etc, but can they do it well?
nattotastic From: [info]nattotastic Date: April 7th, 2008 12:32 am (UTC) (Link)
I completely agree with you.

In this particular case, the company set up a solaris machine running sendmail, and the IT guy was a Windows guy with Exchange experience.

I neglected to mention that when this episode went down the company was in the middle of acquisition where we were integrating our half of the company into the fold of the HQ, which was located back East. HQ had a full complement of IT people that took over so this crack-addled situation turned out to be short-lived.

My company is pretty lucky that I happened to stay late at work that night, and email Jan, who soon afterwards, coincidentally, IM'd me and told me he never received my mail. We were only on the RBL 15 minutes before I found out.
From: (Anonymous) Date: April 5th, 2008 01:12 am (UTC) (Link)

Just a little clarification...

Howdy, just wanted to shoot a short note to clarify that Twitter.com is no longer hosted on Joyent. That change happened at the end of January. Not a critical piece to the story (and thank you for the positive mention btw), but thought you would want to know.

Cheers,
Kristie
VP, Customer Advocacy @ Joyent
fxl From: [info]fxl Date: April 5th, 2008 01:20 am (UTC) (Link)

Re: Just a little clarification...

This might explain part of the the problem.

Mail sent to postmaster@twitter.com bounces, and the bounce notice is from nelson.textdrive.com, which is a Joyent domain, as far as I know. See: http://www.rfc-ignorant.org/tools/detail.php?domain=twitter.com&submitted=1206390742&table=postmaster

In any case, I removed the Joyent reference. I did not know that had changed.

Thanks for the note!
Read comments (5) or Leave a comment
fxl.about()
fxl
User: [info]fxl
Name: fxl
fxl.links()
fxl.calendar()
Back February 2009
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
page summary